The 30-second answer: Buy the E7 if you are average height or shorter, or want a deep desktop: it goes lowest (22.8 in without a top) and takes desktops up to 40 in deep. Buy the E7 Pro if you want legroom and storage under the desk, carry a heavy setup, or are tall: its legs sit toward the back, it is rated 440 lb, and it reaches 50.6 in, but it only takes desktops up to 30 in deep. Buy the E7 Plus only if you want the most capacity and height (540 lb static, 51.6 in) and are happy with four legs.
FlexiSpot’s E7 range covers three quite different desks, and the naming does not help anyone choose: FlexiSpot’s frame-only E7 listing is titled “Pro Plus Standing Desk E7”, which is not the E7 Pro or the E7 Plus. Below, every figure comes from FlexiSpot’s own product pages, comparison tables and manual, checked in October 2026, so you can compare like for like.
The specs, side by side
| Spec | E7 | E7 Pro | E7 Plus |
|---|---|---|---|
| Frame design | T-shaped, 2 legs | C-shaped (“semi-C”), 2 legs set toward the back | 4 legs |
| Leg stages | 3-stage | Not published | 3-stage |
| Motors | Dual | Dual | Dual |
| Height range (without top) | 22.8–48.4 in | 25–50.6 in | 26–51.6 in |
| Load capacity | 355 lb | 440 lb | 540 lb static / 440 lb lifting |
| Desktop width it accepts | 47.2–80 in | 47.2–80 in | 47.2–78.7 in |
| Desktop depth it accepts | 24–40 in | 24–30 in | 27.6–35.4 in |
| Lift tests (FlexiSpot’s figure) | 20,000+ | 30,000+ | 10,000 (cited in a stability demo) |
| Memory presets | 3 | 4 | Up to 4 |
| Anti-collision | Not stated | Yes (stops and retracts) | Not stated on product page |
| Lift speed | 1.5 in/s | 1.5 in/s (manual) | Not published |
| Noise claim | Under 50 dB | ”Quieter than keyboard typing” | Not published |
| Warranty | 15 yr frame and motors; 15 yr electronics | 15 yr frame and motors; 15 yr electronics | 15 yr frame and motors; 15 yr electronics |
Add your desktop’s thickness (usually about 1 in) to the height ranges. FlexiSpot’s desktop warranty depends on the material: 2 years for chipboard and solid-wood-texture tops, 5 years for solid wood, on all three.
The differences that actually matter
1. Where the legs go, and what that does to your space
The E7 is a classic T-frame: two legs in the middle of each side. The E7 Pro’s C-shaped legs sit toward the back of the desk, which FlexiSpot positions as more legroom and more room for storage underneath, such as a drawer unit or a PC tower. The E7 Plus puts a leg at each corner, so you have open space in the middle but four posts to work around.
2. Desktop depth: the E7 Pro’s hidden limit
This is the spec that is easiest to miss. The E7 accepts desktops up to 40 in deep, the E7 Plus up to 35.4 in, but the E7 Pro only up to 30 in. If you want a deep top for large monitors or a big drawing tablet, the E7 Pro rules itself out.
3. Height: short users and tall users want different desks
At the bottom, the E7 goes lowest (22.8 in without a top), which matters if you are shorter and also sit at the desk. The E7 Pro starts at 25 in and the E7 Plus at 26 in. At the top, the order flips: E7 Plus 51.6 in, E7 Pro 50.6 in, E7 48.4 in (all without a top). If you are tall, or plan to put a walking pad under the desk, the extra 2.2–3.2 in at the top of the E7 Pro or Plus can be the deciding factor.
4. Capacity: all three are plenty for most people
355 lb (E7) is already far more than a typical two-monitor setup needs. The E7 Pro’s 440 lb and the E7 Plus’s 540 lb static matter for genuinely heavy loads: large monitors on arms, a heavy solid-wood top, equipment you lift every day. Note that the E7 Plus’s lifting rating is 440 lb, the same as the E7 Pro.
5. Durability claims
FlexiSpot says the E7 Pro passed 30,000+ lift tests versus 20,000+ for the E7. All three carry the same 15-year frame, motor and electronics warranty, so the practical cover is identical.
Quick comparison
| Pick | Best for | |
|---|---|---|
| FlexiSpot E7 · Best for Most People | Average and shorter users; deep desktops up to 40 in | Check → |
| FlexiSpot E7 Pro · Legroom & Heavy Setups | Under-desk storage, 440 lb loads, taller users | Check → |
| FlexiSpot E7 Plus · Maximum Capacity | The tallest range and highest capacity, on four legs | Check → |
Our picks
FlexiSpot E7 — The Sensible Default
The E7 covers what most people need: dual motors, 3-stage legs, a 355 lb rating and a 15-year frame and electronics warranty. It also has two practical advantages over its siblings: the lowest minimum height (22.8 in without a top) and support for the deepest desktops (up to 40 in).
- Lowest minimum height of the three; good for shorter users
- Accepts desktops up to 40 in deep
- Same 15-year frame and electronics warranty as the Pro and Plus
- Lowest maximum height (48.4 in without a top)
- Anti-collision not stated on the product page
FlexiSpot E7 Pro — Legs Out of the Way
The E7 Pro’s C-shaped legs sit toward the back, freeing the space under the desk for your knees, a drawer unit or a PC. It adds capacity (440 lb), height (up to 50.6 in without a top), four memory presets and documented anti-collision. The catch is desktop depth: 30 in maximum.
- More open space under the desk
- 440 lb capacity; 50.6 in maximum height
- 4 presets and anti-collision that stops and retracts
- Desktops limited to 30 in deep
- Starts higher (25 in), less ideal for short users who sit
FlexiSpot E7 Plus — Four Legs, Most Headroom
The E7 Plus is FlexiSpot’s four-leg version: 540 lb static (440 lb lifting), the tallest range of the three (26–51.6 in without a top) and 3-stage legs. FlexiSpot pitches it for users of all heights and shared family desks. Even FlexiSpot’s own FAQ notes some movement is still possible at maximum height, so four legs reduce wobble rather than eliminate it.
- Highest capacity and tallest range of the three
- Four legs for a broad, stable footprint
- Good for tall users and shared desks
- Four posts to work around for chairs and storage
- Lift speed and noise not published
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between the FlexiSpot E7 and E7 Pro? The E7 is a T-frame rated 355 lb with a 22.8–48.4 in range (without top) and accepts desktops up to 40 in deep. The E7 Pro is a C-frame with legs set toward the back for legroom, rated 440 lb, with a 25–50.6 in range, but it only accepts desktops up to 30 in deep. Both are dual-motor with the same 15-year frame and electronics warranty.
Is the FlexiSpot E7 Pro worth it over the E7? It is worth it if you want open space under the desk, need more than 355 lb of capacity, or are tall enough to use the extra 2.2 in at the top. If you are average height or shorter, or want a desktop deeper than 30 in, the standard E7 is the better fit.
Is the “Pro Plus Standing Desk E7” the same as the E7 Pro? No. FlexiSpot’s frame-only listing for the standard E7 is titled “Pro Plus Standing Desk E7 Frame Only”. The E7 Pro and the E7 Plus are separate models.
Which FlexiSpot E7 is best for tall people? The E7 Plus reaches the highest (51.6 in without a top), then the E7 Pro (50.6 in). The standard E7 tops out at 48.4 in without a top, which can be limiting for very tall users or anyone standing on a walking pad (see walking pads for tall users).
Which is best for short people? The standard E7, which goes down to 22.8 in without a top, the lowest of the three. If you are still working out which specs matter for your body, start with how to choose a standing desk.
The verdict
For most people the FlexiSpot E7 is the right buy: it goes lowest, takes the deepest desktops and has the same warranty as its pricier siblings. Choose the E7 Pro if you want the space under the desk or carry a heavy setup, and can live with a 30 in deep top. Choose the E7 Plus if you want the most capacity and height and do not mind four legs. Comparing beyond FlexiSpot? See our standing desk spec comparison of 17 desks and best electric standing desk by use case.
Spec sources: FlexiSpot US product pages for the E7, E7 Pro and E7 Plus, FlexiSpot’s E7 vs E7 Pro comparison table, the E7 Frame Only page and the E7 Pro manual, checked October 2026. Figures are manufacturer-stated and subject to change.
We analyze specs and owner-feedback patterns, and re-review this guide as new models are released. We never claim to have physically tested gear we haven’t. Prices and availability are shown live on Amazon via the links above.